Sony PS2 Bill Board; Racially Offensive?

I am still on the fence with the Sony ad.  People have been blogging about this for a couple of weeks now. When I first saw the pictures I thought that they reminded me of our struggle as a people in this country.  They were somehow symbolic.  I still feel a bit uneasy when I see them, but is that an issue that I need to deal with personally?  Am I being too sensitive?  These are questions I am asking myself to give my final decision.  Would this advertisement be offensive if it were two people of the same skin color? Would I still be offended if it was a light skinned person vs. a dark skinned person?  Would I be offended if the skin color and roles of these two girls were the opposite? (The black girl dressed in all white over top of the white girl dressed in black?)  I don’t know.  I need to think on it…  what do you think?

2 Responses

  1. The top picture reminds me of public school. Growing up in Boston, Public school teacher in my era used corporal punishment. Ouch! Mostly black kids got the punishment.

    The 2nd picture, well I get the same feeling and out of control teacher ready to take out all her anger on a black child. But thats my view. So for my background and history, the picture is racially offensive.

  2. Interesting take. I can understand considering your experiences your view of the pictures.

Leave a Reply

