New Breed of Parent

 

I am not going to say much, but all the parents featured in this article need to be smacked.  They are the adults not the children.  No child of mine will ever run me.  One of the parents in this article says that she has to pick and choose her battles with her daughter.  I suggest you bring her to live with me for a few weeks, I promise you she won’t have the same attitude.  There is a new breed of parent and they have dropped the ball.  The tee-shirts in question are ambiguous for a reason.  The creators of these tee-shorts know exactly what they are doing.  No child should be allowed to wear them. 

I am really concerned why School Administrators are having a hard time determining when or how to take action against children who wear the shirts.  They should call their parents and send their little asses’ home.  It has nothing to do with freedom of expression like one parent identified in the article.  This has nothing to do with being different or unique. 

 Yakini Ajanaku does not mind her daughter’s T-shirts because she said Ashli wears them to be ironic. “I know she’s a sweet girl, and I know that she’s very conservative and is not sexually active,” Ajanaku said. “Other people would probably get the wrong message, but I am pretty much like, ‘Who cares what they think?’

What an ignorant and irresponsible perspective Ms. Ajanaku has. It’s no wonder you daughter wants to wear these types of tee-shirts.  You better care what people think about your daughter.  You walk a fine line when you do not set boundaries for your children.  Ms. Ajanaku and her daughter need to realize that school is for learning, and students need to be focused on learning and not concentrating on what ambiguous message your child has on his/her shirt.  

 Joanne Wynn said her daughter’s shirts are humorous. “If it’s not in good taste, I don’t let [her] wear it,” she said.

Is Joann Wynn serious?  These tee-shirts are humorous in adult settings, not in high school.  I am so sick and tired of these ignorant ass parents.  Then we wonder why our youth are so off the hook, because the parents of today are not real parents.  They are too busy trying to look cute and be hip then to be responsible parents!!

Teens’ T-Shirts Make Educators Squirm

By Ian Shapira

Ashli Walker rifled through a rack of designer T-shirts one recent afternoon, pondering which one she should buy and wear the next day to Eleanor Roosevelt High School in Prince George’s County. The big black one that read, “TRUST ME..I’M SINGLE”? Or the snug white T-shirt emblazoned with, “I KNOW…

One Response

  1. Man- you’ve gotta’ be kidding me with this? Many of these parents are so busy trying to be cool and hip or trying to be their kids friends they are ruining these kids!

    Many of these girls wearing these bullsh*t shirts are doing nothing more than many of these sisters in these damn rap videos – allowing themselves to be the visual playthings of young males. I see these shirts all the time and I’m like, “Did her Mama see her dressed like a billboard skeezer this morning?” Now I see that the answer is probably, “Yes.”

    These shirts do nothing more than give young, stupid, horny boys – breasts to look at, and suggestive ideas about the girls stupid enough to wear them.

    These parents… I’m not even gonna’ waste the keystrokes on them – it’s just too damn bad they didn’t have to take a test to become parents – they probably would have failed miserably. They don’t have a clue.

    But you know who also pisses me off in this equation? The companies that make these stupid shirts and turn a profit from them. I know I’m gonna upset some folks with what I’m about to say, and even though I despise the “N” word… Folk used to say NBA stood for N*ggas Buy Anything, well frankly I’m positive that many of these companies, behind closed doors, say N*ggas Wear Anything. So they put these assinine slogans and quotes on shirts, dump them en masse into Black malls and watch the GREEN roll in. And sadly, many Black folks think this sh*t is cute.

    When will we ever learn?

Leave a Reply

