Aunt’s Whipping of Boy in Class Investigated

I had to sit down and really think about this story.  I remember growing up and I can count on 1 hand the amount of times my parents were called about my behavior in school; K-12.  My parents never whipped me at school. 

I can’t believe that the teacher turned a blind eye and a deaf ear while the Aunt of this young man pulled his pants and underwear down and whipped him in front of male and female students.  What in the hell was she thinking!  I know a lot of us live by spare the rod spoil the child, but some of us cross the line.  Kids don’t act out for no reason at all.  If this child was cutting up that much, then that usually means that there is something else going on in the family.  Some of us need to understand the bigger picture of this situation.

Our history has shown how black men were whipped, enslaved and embarrassed in front of their families to dehumanize them.  And unfortunately, we have incorporated this into our culture.  A lot of our parents were brought up in this tradition, but it does not mean that it is right.  In our communities today, we are plagued with violence and murder.  A lot of our young black youth, settle disputes with fist and even worse guns.

I was barley whipped, because my parents taught my sister and I from a very young age how to act.  They emphasized that there are consequences to your actions.  While in school, I made sure that I did not get a phone call home, because I knew my parents were no joke.  Therefore, the times that did warrant a whipping were far and few and were not out of control.

Today as I look around I see kids, young black kids who are out of control.  I see young black boys who are being raise without the presence of fathers.  We are fooling ourselves if we think that young boys, especially young black boys, don’t need the presence of a responsible male in their lives. 

3 Responses

  1. You know what?? I am so sick and tired of all the self righteous people who think that corporal punishment shouldn’t be allowed. If more parents would take the time AND dicipline thier children, there would be less children who are dropouts, who shoot teachers and are disrespectful to teachers our children would be LEARNING.

  2. umm Yevette:

    I am not against spankings, but the manner in which the aunt pulled down her nephew’s pants and underware in front of young male and female classmates, crosses the line.

    You are correct, if more parents would take the time and dicipline their children at home, kids wouldn’t come to school acting a fool. Maybe if adults would understand that children, especially young boys, need responsible men in their lives, these problems could be curtailed. In this story there was not one mention of the father or other male figure.

  3. There is a difference between discipline and shaming. Discipline, including the sometimes necessary use of spanking, should not be used to shame and humiliate the child. In my son’s case, spanking ceased to be effective once he was old enough (about 5) to find it embarrassing and humiliating to be smacked. He became more defiant at that point.

Leave a Reply

