Oprah at Howard University

Man oh man is all I can say.  Oprah  gave a really good commencement speech.  I am going to youtube it tonight.  I loved it when she said:

Her grandmother, a maid, once told her, ” ‘I hope you grow up and find some good white folks to work for.’

“I regret that she didn’t live past 1963 and see that I did grow up and get some really good white folks working for me”

Educator Julian M. Earls, and humanitarian and business executive Irene Pollin.

Earls got big laughs when he said, “Education without common sense is like a load of books on the back of a jackass.”

Great speakers and congrats to all the 2007 graduates!!!

12 Responses

  1. I like oprah screw what some folks say about her. I think shes gone extremely commercial to appeal white folks but as long as she gives back and keeps doing stuff like that school in south africa more power to her.

  2. LOL… @ Oprah’s response, and I especially love the education quote… nice.

  3. Man, I really wish that colored folks would give credit where credit is due. We are so quick to quote things but without giving the attribution of the quote, and then all the ignorant people around us think that we said something really great, and we let them go on thinking it. And then those who are in the know cannot possibly take us serious because of that lapse.

    Julian M. Earls was quoting a very popular portion of a poem by Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi.

    I recently attended a Summit on Racism where one of the speakers said “to quote Nathan Rutstein’s most well known line: ‘And the truth shall set you free!'”. I thought, uh, dang, I’m not even Christian and I know good and well that quote comes from the Bible!

  4. Aaminah:

    I am just quoting what the Post quoted. I did watch some of HU’s graduation and I think that Earls said that his grandfather use to tell him that. so maybe it was something that was passed down from generation to generation without his family knowing the origin. But thanks for the info

  5. My only problem with Oprah, and it is a big one, is that she promotes psuedoscience and other kinds of snake-oil nonsense, like “the Secret”. When someone comes on the show and claims to be a psychic or other such bull, she never says “you are a charlatan” (I presume because she believes them).

    While I support the good work that Oprah does, she could help the black community a lot more by promoting rational thought and critical thinking, rather than bafoonery.

  6. You gotta’ love Oprah! I have had my ins and outs with her, but I am really feeling her lately. Go O! 🙂

  7. I think that Oprah is part of a big problem myself. The Black americans are always prejudice against White Americans. We are all Americans I was at a college graduation recently myself and the Black preacher that led the first prayer had to say something about slavery in it. Slavery had nothing to do with that graduation ceremony. I stopped listening to his prayer at that moment. Times have changed and people need to move on..

  8. Good ‘ol Oprah, just can’t help it can she. And wonder why things are the way they are. Pigs like her can get away with it, be admired for the insult(s). & the one’s who are allowed to say that stuff are incouraged to keep it comming. Take advantage of the liberal slime power and tear the country apart as best and fast as you all let them.

  9. “Really good white folks working for me”

    Oprah, I didn’t see or hear your speech but I’m hoping maybe the rest of your speech had something better to be absorbed than how I absorded this one line. “Good white folks” sounds pretty prejudiced to me.

    You’re an intelligent Woman, why say something like that?

    Sorry, but it sounds like you’re one of the ignorant folks from the PAST declaring they have good black folks working for them. TSK…

    Sad…. ~ Jim

  10. Dmtholly, Linda and Black Wolf:

    I am not quite sure what both of you are talking about. Oprah’s message at Howard’s graduation was uplifting and was on point.

    Linda you said that:

    “The Black Americans are always prejudice against White Americans.”

    Your comments are a perfect example of cultural conditioning. That is in this country we are culturally conditioned to believe that white is superior and black is inferior. And the manifestation of this conditioning is that black people are underestimated, undervalued and marginalized.

    You see, main stream America has random selected memory when it comes to discussing true American History. Some in this country only talk about the great founders and how they built a Democracy without telling the story of how they built such a great country; off the backs, blood, sweet and tears of black and brown people. But some people in this country, want to omit that from the history books and think that black people should get over it. This is classic cultural conditioning working at its best.

    In Oprah’s speech she made two points that talked about race:

    “that her grandmother’s dream for her was to one day grow up and get her some good white folks to work for.”
    “she regrets that her grandmother did not live past the year 1963 to she that she did grow to have some really good white folks working for her”

    “Harriet Tubman said that she could have freed a thousand more slaves if she could only had convinced them that they were slaves.”

    She told these stories to make a point. It wasn’t a racist statement. If anything, the fact that her grandmother could only work as a maid for white people only highlights how racist this country has been to black people. She didn’t state that to make white people of today feel bad, it was used to show how we as a people have progressed in spite of mental and physical roadblocks. So if you refuse to understand that then that sounds like a problem you need to deal with.

    I will not allow anyone, regardless of what color they are, to undervalue, underestimate or marginalize my existence or the past experiences of black people in this country by not remembering slavery and everything they went through so that I may have a better life. Oprah understands that and that is why she said what she said. Listen to the whole speech and you will hear that she told those stories to emphasize to the graduates that reason why they were able to attend college and live their lives, was because of the countless sacrifices their ancestors made.

  11. Well now:) I guess you’ve never heard of the white people working either, or of white slaves. I know history and I didn’t mean to demean any of the American race. All I’m am saying is that we are all Americans. If I call myself a White American, I am racist. So why can Ya’ll call yourselves Black Americans or African Americans and get away with it? They have things around my area called The African American Ball, what if we had a fancy dance and called it The White American Ball, How many people would allow that to happen? I am tired of black americans looking down on me. I didn’t have anything to do with slavery. And as a matter of fact, If I had been living back in that day, I’m sure I would have been against it.

  12. Linda:

    Who is blaming you for slavery? No one is blaming you for slavery. And your not racist if you call yourself a White American. I don’t know where you are getting this from. I think the problem with a lot of us is that we don’t listen to each other.

    I think that when white people hear us talk about slavery, they think we are blaming them for it. I would be a fool to blame you for something that you had nothing to do with; what we do want to acknowledge is that what came out of slavery was mental slavery and discrimination. Do you know that hate groups still in this country? The Ku Klux Klan is alive and well; skin heads are in full force. Black people are not sitting around blaming all of their problems on white people of today.

    Also what Black Americans are looking down on you? I would like to continue this constructive disucssion with you because I think we as well as others can learn from this.

Leave a Reply

