My Mentor Blog

This has been a long struggle but I am finally making progress with my mentor initiative. I am going to use this blog as a journal on the progress of the program; more information to come.  I have added a category “My Mentoring Program” on the side bar.

Sometimes I get so frustrated.  I look at what’s going on in the world and how our black youth are failing.  I wanted to form a mentor program that would equip black male high school students  with the skills and knowledge to grow into socially conscience adults. 

People have asked me why I haven’t joined an existing program.   The answer; I want to form my own organization.  I applaud organizations like Concerned Black Men, and 100 Black Men because they are doing their thing; but I feel the need to form my own group.

The name of my program is Young Men with PurposeAt the moment I am running the program out of Parkdale High School.  It is my intent to turn this into a non-prof and run with it.  I am open to suggestions and looking for othe young brothers who may be interested in helping; I’m all ears.

 Native Son

5 Responses

  1. Native Son:

    If you ever need assistance with some of your mentoring activities, contact me via email at cj_edmonds@yahoo.com.

    Please delete this message without posting it after you have copied my email address.

    Afripino

  2. Afripino:
    I will get in contact with you soon, I want to expand this idea that I have.

    Native

  3. Good job fam! If I can help out let me know.
    Shoot me an e-mail and I will give you my number.

    Peace

  4. I am trying to find out more about your program, I am a parent with a son who is 15 years old.

    Please contact me

  5. Kudos to you and all others (especially Black men) who decide to mentor. In addition to my “9 – 5” in the youth mentoring field; I recently joined with 3 other brothers to start a mentoring program at the Charles Hickey School (Dept. Juvenile Services- Alternative Education Facility). Our first session was this past Saturday. I wrote about it on my blog:

    http://faithinactiononline.com/2007/11/04/putting-the-men-back-in-mentoring/

    Kudos to you again and hopefully many more men will be inspired by your example.

Leave a Reply

