First mentoring session…..

Well I had my first mentor session at Parkdale High School yesterday, and not student showed up.  I was kind of disappointed but I will take part of the blame, because I did not follow through and make sure that the staff were promoting my program. 

To correct this problem I asked the parent liaison to email a description of my program to the guidance staff so they could recommend students.  I am also going to create flyers so she can hang them up around the school. 

8 Responses

  1. Don’t give up. Mentoring is a rewarding experience worth sharing.But I do have a question for you. I realize that your program is geared towards certain students but what if your first student isn’t part of that group?

  2. Scott:

    not sure never thought about it. I know I want to focus on mentoring black males because, in this area there is a huge need for it

  3. I am a married mother of 5 sons, 19, 17, 16, 13, and 11. While they do have a father figure in the home, I don’t think they understand when he tries to discipline them. Especiallys since he was spanked until he was 18. I don’t think that is the answer for today’s children. The 19 year old is already out of control, but he lives elsewhere, because I had to put him out. He was negatively influencing his brothers. The problem now is my 16 year old. He gets high with older guys, and is sexually active, and getting in trouble with the law. About two weeks ago, he didn’t come home one night. My husband was out of town, and told me not to go out late looking for him. The next morning the police brought him home, and said him and two 20 year old MEN, strong-arm robbed a cab driver. I haven’t received a court date as of yet, but should be hearing something soon. Now today 10/31/2007, the police bring him home from Laurel High, because he was high in school. He smoked a “joint” at the bus stop this morning. Someone in school gave him the marijuana in school yesterday. He’s been punished since the robbery, so he only gets to communicate with other people when at school. He wants to go to JobCorps, and I am cool with that, BUT I would rather someone mentor him, and maybe get him on the right track. He’s not a thug, he is well-mannered and respectful to adults (when he’s not trying to impress peers), goes to church with me on Sundays occassionally, and he expresses that he wants to do better. He’s a follower, and I need someone to show him how to be a leader. His father and I disagree on alot, and discipline is one of the major things. There are a lot of reasons my son could be acting-out like this, and if you contact me I would be happy to give you some insight into our family background. I just don’t want him to end up a statistic. I can see his potential, I just don’t know how to show it to him. He doesn’t do well in school (grades), and his father calls him stupid, and slow, whenever he messes-up. I too am guilty of calling him names sometimes, but I consciously try to speak good things to him now. I want him to know that it’s not too late to turn things around. If someone out there can take on this challenge, and spend some time with him, or know of a good program, please contact me:nicolewmiles@hotmail.com. Thank you, to those of you who want to help our young black men.

  4. Wow.
    Okay my first problem is the calling of names. Why is his father calling him stupid. Only plants grow with Manue dumped on them. I hate to say this but the family needs counseling now. I hope you have a good lawyer that robbery situation is a tough call. Who is mentoring you? I say this because I did not receive a play book from my mother and father or my husband’s parents and my husband and I are trying to be really concious of what we do for our children. We do not buy any expensive cars, clothing etc (not saying you do) but we realize that our plan is to invest in our childrens education (not calling them stupid) and our family time.
    Now you can do all this and your sons can go down different parts than what you have planned for them. I don’t know if my children will be successful. What I do know is this you have taken the first step. The second step is to make sure you take stock of your family what are you guys about. What will it take for you to be successful? How can you guys can get there from here? Can you do this without losing yourself in religion (i.e. waiting for god to help versus working with the church and your capabilities) without losing yourself in work and bills, without negatively affecting the 13,,17, and 11 year old. How can you get the other kids to be super achievers. How can you turn yourself and the 11 and 13 into success stories and rescue the others. I am assuming the 17 year old is preparing for college? What district do you live in? What talents do your children have? What methods of learning have been the most successful for them? Kids learn differently they may learn differently but they are very rarely are stupid.
    Nichole

  5. Native Son email me at my other address I want to put you in touch with some people
    Nichole

  6. bequeissence….sent you a reply via email, it was sent back….email me new address if you would like to hear my reply…too personal to post on here
    Nicole

  7. Wanted to make sure you were in the loop on this:

    Good Afternoon Everyone,

    I’m writing to let you know about an event that you and the youth you serve may be interested in.

    On Tuesday, January 22, 2008 12Noon – 2PM at the Miller Senate Building (11 Bladen Street, Annapolis 21401), the Maryland Mentoring Partnership will be hosting Mentoring Day in Annapolis. It’s a day for us to raise awareness about the importance of mentoring and youth development. We make sure that legislators keep mentoring/youth development in the forefront of their minds. As you know, the state budget is under scrutiny and sadly funds for critical programs which support youth are being cut. It’s extremely important that youth and those that serve them advocate for funding and other forms of support that will help ensure the healthy development of our youth. I’d love for you and perhaps even a delegation from the youth you serve to be in attendance on that day. We’ll have speakers like Sen. Lisa Gladden, Lieutenant Governor Anthony Brown (invited) and even Baltimore Urban Debate League students that will “debate” the issue of positive youth investment in society. Different from previous year’s programs, this year we’ve built in time to send attendees to the offices of their legislators to introduce themselves and make personal appeals to support mentoring/youth development. (To identify those that represent you in Annapolis please visit: http://www.mdelect.net)

    Let me know if you’re interested. We will be serving lunch.

    Let me know if you and maybe 5 – 8 of your youth can make it this coming Tuesday. It will be a tight 2 hour program that will yield a great return on your investment of time and energy.

    Feel free to call (410) 685-8316 with any questions and to reserve your space at Mentoring Day in Annapolis 2008!

  8. Hi, I’m curious to know if your mentor program is live yet. What age-range (specifically, would you consider speaking with college-age young men)? Thanks.
    -Mal

Leave a Reply

