State of New York Strikes Back

BK State Assembly Hakeem Jeffries is not playing with Nas.  He is not sitting back complaining, he is taking action by attempting to hit record companies in the pocket.  That is how you get America to listen; you take away the money.  Nas just doesn’t get it.  And apparently Saul Williams is trying to get in on the issue as well.

In related news, poet Saul Williams may join Nas as a target of protest with the announcement of his upcoming album title, “The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust!,” produced by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails and mixed by Alan Moulder.

I have seen and heard Saul perform before and he is a cool brotha, but I am not sure what he is trying to do here.  I guess people will say that we should wait and hear Nas’s CD and Saul’s CD before pass judgement, but unless one of friends buys one these works, I will never hear it.

Why do we see no wrong in underestimating, undervaluing and marginalizing ourselves?

7 Responses

  1. I BELEIVE THAT HIP-HOP SHOULD CME TOGATHER AND GO AGANIST PEOPLE THAT WANTS TO STOP IT. BEING AN ARTIST MY SELF I WOULDN’T SOMEONE TO TRY AND STOP ME FROM DOING SOMETHING I LOVE.

  2. I’m on record as saying that Nas is using the N-word as part of his marketing campaign, i.e., he is using the term as his title to generate “buzz” in the media. His belief is that the free “buzz” will enhance his record sales. Now, we move the discussion to Mr. Williams.

    Both use the term (or a derivative thereof) in their titles. In response, many argue that it is another example of “underestimating, undervaluing and marginalizing ourselves.” However, we should remember that one of the better known songs by one of the first rap groups to hit the scene — The Last Poets — was titled “Niggers Are Scared of the Revolution.” Arguably, but unfortunately, the Last Poets song/poem was an indictment of black laziness with respect to standing up for their rights.

    Fast forward to Mr. Williams and Nas… We should reserve harsher judgment until we hear the lyrics that these two young men present in their latest CDs. I admit that I am skeptical, but, after thinking about The Last Poets–my favorite rap group–I’m going to reserve my judgment until I’ve read the lyrics from the two CDs.

    Afripino

    For more info about The Last Poets, see http://www.math.buffalo.edu/~sww/LAST-POETS/last_poets0.html

  3. I am trying, to understand, maybe once they come out it will home some sort of message that will bring all of this full circle

  4. Are we for real? The N word is so ingrained in our minds that we may even use it without thinking. You know when someone really gets you mad and you think about that word. The word even if meant in love as some would argue was based on hate and disregard for the people of the black race. We should not continue to teach our people negativity. I do not care what his lyrics are these hip hop artist need to be responsible but we need to be more responsible and not buy things from artist that put the race. There are so many words use another one.

    My problem is that I am not sure I promote censorship.

  5. DOG CHAPMAN DID NOT SAY ANYTHING THAT A BLACK PERSON WOULD NOT SAY WHEN TALKING IN PRIVATE. GET REAL– IF THEY CAN SAY “CRACKER OR HONKY” IN THEIR CONVERSATIONS, WHY CAN’T WHITE PEOPLE SAY “NIGGER”. EVERYTHING IN MEDIA IS PHONY. WHITE AND BLACK PEOPLE SAY THESE WORDS EVERYDAY ABOUT AND TOO EACH OTHER.

  6. Bud:

    You posted under the wrong blog post. But since you posted here I will respond. Not all black people use the word nigger; I do not use it. And the black people who do use it, are ignorant. White people who use it or racist. Period

  7. Before West Coast Gansta Rap, the use of the “N” word was not prevelent, at least not in my world. My parents didn’t use the word and taught me not to use it. I am teaching my sons the same. It does maginalize us. When I heard a Mexican co-worker use the “N” word AT WORK without a second thought it really pissed me off. Not only at him, but at our culture that has let this word take on a life of it’s own. You even have Asians saying it! I think a lot of Blacks are truely ignorant and really don’t care, calling themselves “N” and proud of it. Some are torn between ideas of being marginalized and tranforming the word into a term of endearment (reminds me of the Tribe Called Quest song “Sucka Nigga”). That’s like a Euro-American calling themselves “poor white trash” and being proud of it. I think someone got fired from The Apprentice L.A. for saying that crap.

Leave a Reply

