Largo High School battles truancy

Hats off to the Principal at Largo High School  for trying to attack this problem.  This looks like an intense effort to curve their high truancy rate; but I would add one more element;  require that parents of these kids who continue to skip school also take some type parenting class and if their child continues to have absences; fine them. 

I know people get really uptight when you penalize parents but enough is enough.  I am only 32 and I will admit that skipped school a few times; but they were far and few between.  Because I was afraid of getting caught and having to deal with my parents!!  My parents would have beat the life out of me if I was caught skipping school.

Leave a Reply

