Flava Flav: Modern day Stepin Fetchit

After great ratings on VH-1’s “Flava of Love” networks have given him a show called Under One Roof.  Flava Flav plays an ex-con who goes to live with his rich brother; sounds familiar?  It may from the surface, but Fresh Prince of Bel Air had a great story line and was balanced. 

I will go out on a limb and say that this show will be nothing short of coon-tastic entertainment.  I am using Flava of Love as my premise for making these statements.  As a matter of fact, the LA Times says that the show makes other ethnicities look stupid as well; still doesn’t make it right. 

4 Responses

  1. This is why I don’t watch any television…”Coon-tastic” indeed.

  2. According to the LA Times piece, the producer of Under One Roof also worked on Fresh Prince. So I suppose he figured after all these years since that show ended he needs to get paid by any means.

    I personally need to step up my mentoring to youth and show that you don’t have to live negatively to succeed. We’re never going to completely rid ourselves of poor images of our people; it just hurts when they are self-inflicted.

  3. LAC: I feel you on that, I have mentoring program i just started here in Maryland. And one makes you wonder how the creator of the Fresh Prince of Bel Air thought that this would be a good idea. Will Smith’s character on the show was not over the top and the show had a perfect balance of comedy. Anything that Flavor Flav is in post Public Enemy is just a modern day minstrel show.

  4. I don’t see the show lasting for long. I agree with the last person who commented. Flavor Flav after Public Enemy is just a minstrel show at it’s worst. It’s like a car wreck because I’ve watched his Flavor of Love show. I don’t think I’ll be checking out his sitcom.

Leave a Reply

